Helpful agents are standing by: (215) 600-1455
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

3 Phases of DUI/DWI Offense That Can Affect Your Car Insurance Philadelphia

AutoInsuranceInPhiladelphiaCompaniesDriving at the state of drunkenness is a criminal offence. By driving under the effect of intoxicating substances, you not only put yourself but also the lives of others under jeopardy. Pennsylvania is a state with strict laws when it comes to driving. One of the strict laws is the mandatory purchase of car insurance Philadelphia. As for the laws, offences like Driving under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) are dealt with iron hands. The legal Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) in Pennsylvania is 0.08%. Philadelphia, being situated in this state, enforces the DUI and DWI laws of Pennsylvania. There are three phases off DUI offence. They are listed as follows.

•             General Impairment Penalties (0.08%-0.099% BAC) – In this case, charges include ungraded or second degree misdemeanour, a few days to 2 years of prison time, a fine ranging from $300 to $5,000, one year ignition lock, alcohol highway safety school, and if required, treatment. You may face some or all of these penalties. Your prior DUI record is taken into account. Obviously, first time offenders get a lighter sentence.

•             High BAC Penalties (0.10% to 0.159% BAC) –  The punishments in this case includes ungraded to first degree misdemeanour, twelve to eighteen months of license suspension, 48 hours to 5 years in jail, $500 to $10,000 fine, alcohol highway safety school, a year of ignition lock, and treatment upon order. You may face some or all of these penalties depending on your BAC level and previous DUI records.

•             Highest BAC Penalties (BAC of 0.16% and above) or Controlled Substances) – If you are charged with this offence, then you are heavily penalized. The penalties include ungraded to first degree misdemeanour, 72 hours to 5 years in prison, a hefty fine varying from $1,000 to $10,000, 1 year ignition lock, alcohol highway safety school, and treatment if needed. Based on your previous records, you face some or all of these sentences.

You must note that seriously injuring another party automatically worsens your charge. Failure to cooperate with the arresting officer(s), misbehavior and refusal of breath, urine and blood tests to measure your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) will add to your problems. You always have the option of not answering and not taking the Field Sobriety Test before speaking to your attorney but you need to convey that politely. If not, you may end up with a suspended license or even be dragged to jail.

DUI and DWI convictions will definitely affect your driver’s record. As a result, you will have to pay more for your auto insurance in Philadelphia. For offenders, the premium rates can increase to a hefty amount or worse, your Philadelphia auto insurance company may refuse to insure you. The increment in the rates of auto insurance in Philadelphia depends on the degree of your offence and the number of times you have been convicted for the same reason.

Driving while drunk does not go hand in hand. If you have drunk too much, it is better to choose not to drive. Ask someone who is sober to give you a ride instead. Lead your life responsibly and safely.

If you are looking for Philadelphia car insurance policy of your choice, simply enter your zip code vat the top of this webpage. We will provide you with a number of quotes from different companies choose the one you like the best.

Save Your Car Insurance in Philadelphia fro DUI/DWI Cases with Legal Help

Driving Under the Influence or DUI and Driving While Intoxicated or DWI are considered to be heinous violation of traffic rules. In the entire state of Pennsylvania, DUI and DWI mean the same but the official term used while dealing with such cases is DUI.

In Philadelphia, you can be charged with DUI on two grounds. If your Blood Alcohol Concentration is higher than the state’s legal limit of 0.08, you will be charged of DUI. After being pulled over, you will be taken to the police station to be tested. The test can be done my analyzing your breath or testing your blood or urine. According to the Pennsylvanian law, it should be done within two hours of arrest. Refusal and non-cooperation will only get you into more trouble and may end you up getting your license suspended immediately. You can be also charged with DUI if you are under the effect of drugs or similar illegal substances or a combination of intoxicating substances and alcohol even if your DUI is below the legal limit.

philadelphiacheapcarinsuranceFirst time offenders get lighter sentences but the consequences of the arrest can be quite serious. You have to end up paying a hefty fine ranging from $300 to $5,000, compulsory rehab, license suspension, vehicle registration suspension, ignition lock, DUI courses, and in some cases, imprisonment. To top it all, the company providing you car insurance in Philadelphia might inflate your premium rates by a large percentage.

The first thing you must do is to get yourself out of this difficult legal situation. Seeking professional and legal help is a must. You can consult some of your acquaintances or search online for a reliable lawyer to fight your case. The next step is to set up appointments with a few of these lawyers with initial consultation. Here, you can ask each other questions and discuss the means to deal with the case and each other’s conditions and requirements. Inquire about the following:

•             Experience with DUI cases in Philadelphia.

•             Thoughts on your case.

•             Contact details

•             The kind of arrangement he makes and uses.

•             Experience in dealing with case similar to yours

Select the one whose strategy you have liked the best and have found the most reliable. Don’t to choose the one with a fee you are comfortable paying with.

If you are unable to afford an attorney, you can settle for a Pennsylvanian public defender. In case of imprisonment, you can get a paralegal from the office of the local defender to know whether you are eligible for free legal representation or not. If you are not imprisoned yet, personally pay a visit to the public defender’s office along with your income proof and documents of summons. You need to have four or more consecutive pay check stubs or enough proof that you are on dole.

If you are cleared of the charges or they are significantly reduced, the rates of your car insurance Philadelphia will automatically decrease a swell. However, it is always the best option to avoid violating the laws not just to keep your Philadelphia auto insurance rates down but to lead a healthy, happy, and legally sound life as well.

Compare and choose. Enter your zip code to get Philadelphia car insurance quotes that suit your needs.